Who makes the Lombardi Trophy? Fun facts to know about the NFL’s Super Bowl prize

Vince Lombardi once said it best:

“Winning isn’t everything. It’s the only thing.”

Lombardi did plenty of winning as an NFL head coach, including leading the Green Bay Packers to victory in each of the first two Super Bowls. More than 50 years after those wins, Lombardi’s name remains a big part of the Super Bowl festivities. The winner of the NFL season’s final game hoists the Lombardi Trophy high into the air in celebration.

Many watching the postgame celebrations know that the trophy is named after Lombardi, and plenty of NFL fans are well aware that their team’s goal is to hoist that shiny silver award at the end of the season. But there’s probably plenty you don’t know about the Lombardi Trophy, so we’re here to fill in the gaps.

Who makes the Lombardi Trophy?

The Lombardi Trophy is made by Tiffany & Co., a luxury jewelry company based in New York City. They’ve created the trophy from the very first Super Bowl.

It wasn’t initially named after Lombardi — that only happened in 1970 — but it’s always been there for the Super Bowl champion. Tiffany & Co. vice president Oscar Riedener sketched it out on a napkin for NFL commissioner Pete Rozelle in 1966.

The Lombardi Trophy takes four full months to create in a workshop based in Cumberland, Rhode Island, according to Tiffany & Co. They make a new one every year, unlike with the Stanley Cup, so each team gets to keep its iteration of the Lombardi Trophy.

How big is the Lombardi Trophy?

The Lombardi Trophy measures 22 inches high and weighs seven pounds. 

The football that’s featured at the top of the trophy is made the same size as a regulation NFL football (although it weighs more since it’s made out of sterling silver). To create the trophy, sterling silver is heated to 1,000 degrees before being molded into its shape.

Who has won the Lombardi Trophy?

Entering 2021, there have been 54 Super Bowls played. A total of 28 franchises have played in the Super Bowl, and 20 have won the big game. These are the champions who’ve gotten to raise the shining silver trophy.

Source: Read Full Article