British GP to be held on July 18 as F1 side-steps Euro 2021 final

REVEALED: The 2021 British Grand Prix will be held on July 18 to avoid clash with Euro and Wimbledon finals as Vietnam round is scrapped in 23-race calendar seen by Sportsmail

  • Sportsmail has seen the full 23-race 2021 Formula One season calendar 
  • The British GP has been scheduled on July 18 to avoid Euro 2021 and Wimbledon
  • The Hanoi round intended to be part of the schedule has been canned 

The British Grand Prix will be held on July 18 next year, sidestepping a clash with the Wimbledon men’s singles final and football’s Euro 2020 final at Wembley.

Sportsmail has seen the full F1 calendar for 2021 — a 23-race season, including the showpiece at Silverstone, which was won this year by Lewis Hamilton. 

It can also be revealed that the season will start in Australia on March 21. But the calendar will not include the much-vaunted inaugural race in Vietnam. 

Formula One will schedule the 2021 British Grand Prix on July 18 amid a 23-race schedule 

Lewis Hamilton took victory in 2020 in a Covid-19 affected race at the Silverstone circuit 

The race’s date has been plotted to steer clear of Wimbledon and the Euro 2021 finals 

The intended round in Hanoi is off due to local political complications.

Police have arrested Hanoi’s People’s Committee chairman Nguyen Duc Chung for alleged appropriation of ‘documents containing state secrets’. 

That vacancy in the schedule will be filled with a race at Imola or Istanbul. 

Portimao, host of the 2020 Portuguese Grand Prix, could replace the scrapped Vietnam round

Portimao, in the Algarve, is an alternative, but it is a moot point whether they have the infrastructure to accommodate a GP with a full quota of fans.

An F1 spokesman said: ‘We will not comment on the provisional calendar until it is made public and confirmed.’


Mar 21 Australia

Mar 28 Bahrain

Apr 11 China

Apr 25 Imola/Turkey/Portugal

May 9 Spain

May 23 Monaco

June 6 Azerbaijan

June 13 Canada

June 27 France

July 4 Austria

July 18 Britain

Aug 1 Hungary 

Aug 29 Belgium

Sep 5 Holland

Sep 12 Italy

Sep 26 Russia

Oct 3 Singapore

Oct 10 Japan

Oct 24 USA

Oct 31 Mexico

Nov 14 Brazil

Nov 28 Saudi Arabia

Dec 5 Abu Dhabi


Share this article

Source: Read Full Article