23-man shortlist to select next six Hall of Fame members revealed

TEN former Manchester United stars named on 23-man shortlist to select next six members of new Premier League Hall of Fame… but there’s NO room for Ryan Giggs amid impending court case

  • Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry were announced as the ‘inaugural inductees’
  • Now fans can vote for six further stars to join them from a 23-man shortlist
  • The list is dominated by players representing Manchester United and Arsenal
  • Ryan Giggs though doesn’t make the list due to his impending court case
  • The Wales manager is due in court after he was charged with three offences 

The Premier League have revealed a 23-man shortlist allowing fans to vote on who should join Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry in the all-new Hall of Fame.

Supporters will get a chance to whittle down the 23-man list to select the next six members after the Newcastle and Arsenal legends became the inaugural inductees on Monday morning.

The shortlist is dominated by ten Manchester United players including Roy Keane, David Beckham and Paul Scholes – though there was no place for Ryan Giggs.

David Beckham and Paul Scholes are among ten former Manchester United players on the shortlist

Ryan Giggs though has not been included in the shortlist amid his impending court case

Liverpool star and Rangers manager Steven Gerrard is among those also to make the list

Giggs, who has won more Premier League titles than any player in history, has not been included amid an impending court case after he was charged with three offences.

The former Manchester United winger was charged with causing actual bodily harm to a woman in her 30s and common assault of a woman in her 20s. Both counts relate to an incident on November 1 last year.

Giggs has also been charged with one count of coercive and controlling behaviour between December 2017 and November 2020. The 47-year-old has been bailed and is due to appear at Manchester and Salford Magistrates’ Court on Wednesday. He denies the allegations though he will not manage Wales at the Euro 2020 championships as a result.

Other former Manchester United stars to be included were Eric Cantona, Andy Cole, Rio Ferdinand, Peter Schmeichel, Robin Van Persie, Nemanja Vidic and Michael Owen.  

Arsenal are also heavily represented in the list with seven representatives including Van Persie, Ian Wright, Patrick Vieira, Tony Adams, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell and Gunner turned Chelsea star Ashley Cole.

As well as Ashley Cole, Chelsea also have John Terry, Frank Lampard and Didier Drogba included in the list.

Arsenal are heavily represented with Dennis Bergkamp one of seven ex-Gunners players

Chelsea’s five-time Premier League winning captain John Terry is one player fans can vote for

Liverpool have three representatives including Owen, Steven Gerrard and Robbie Fowler.

Also included in the list are Southampton legend Matthew Le Tissier and former Newcastle and Tottenham striker Les Ferdinand.

The first two inductees were teased on social media in a video last week, in which the likes of Jamie Carragher and Ian Wright gave clues as to who could be taking the honour.

90s Premier League legends Eric Cantona, Les Ferdinand and Ian Wright have also made the list

One of the players was described as ‘lethal, unmarkable at times’ and a ‘devastating phenomenon’, while the other, according to former Liverpool man Jamie Carragher, was ‘an absolute nightmare to play against’.

In announcing Shearer and Henry, the Premier League’s official account introduced the pair as: ‘Two centre-forwards, both gifted with natural skill and talent who have written their names in Premier League history.’

Fans can vote for the next six inductees on the Premier League’s official website and on the official Premier League app until May 9.  

Premier League Hall of Fame 23 man shortlist 


Peter Schmeichel


Tony Adams, Sol Campbell, Ashley Cole, Rio Ferdinand, John Terry, Nemanja Vidic


David Beckham, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matthew Le Tissier, Paul Scholes, Patrick Vieira


Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Andrew Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Michael Owen, Robin van Persie, Ian Wright

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article