MARK CLATTENBURG: Why James Tarkowski’s high foot on Sean Longstaff was NOT a penalty – the call was subjective with the Burnley man not aware of what was behind him
- Newcastle were furious after being denied a penalty in their victory at Burnley
- James Tarkowski had caught Sean Longstaff in the penalty area with a high boot
- It was a subjective call with Tarkowski clearly not knowing what was behind him
James Tarkowski’s foot made contact with Sean Longstaff’s head.
There is no question about that, so you can make an argument for a penalty for Newcastle.
But it is clear from the replays that Tarkowski did not know Longstaff was behind him when he made his clearance.
James Tarkowski’s high foot on Sean Longstaff wasn’t a penalty but the call was subjective
He cleared the ball and Longstaff threw his head in.
It was a subjective call.
Referee Anthony Taylor did not see it as a foul in real time, and VAR Stuart Attwell backed his on-field official in deciding Tarkowski should not be punished for the follow-through of his clearance.
It was made clear from the replays that Tarkowski did not know Longstaff had been behind him
Share this article
Source: Read Full Article