The Best FIFA Football Awards LIVE: Lewandowski up for men's prize

The Best FIFA Football Awards LIVE: Robert Lewandowski battling it out with Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo for the men’s prize while Jurgen Klopp will be looking to scoop up the coach award once again

  • The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony gets underway at 6pm tonight
  • Robert Lewandowski is up for the men’s award after shining for Bayern Munich
  • He will be looking to fend off Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo for the prize 
  • Jurgen Klopp, Marcelo Bielsa and Hansi Flick are up for the men’s coach award

Robert Lewandowski has been widely tipped to fend off the usual suspects Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the Best FIFA Men’s Award on Thursday evening.

The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony gets underway at 6pm, with the sport’s governing body handing out seven prizes to reward the world’s best from the men’s and women’s game.  

Follow Sportsmail’s Jonathan Spencer for live coverage of the The Best FIFA football awards, including awards for men’s player and goalkeeper, women’s player and goalkeeper, men’s and women’s coach and the Puskas Award.

Son Heung-min’s brilliant solo goal for Tottenham against Burnley in the Premier League in December last year is one of the nominees for the Puskas Award, while Jurgen Klopp will be hoping to claim the men’s coach prize for the second year running. 

Host commentator

And the ceremony has now begun. We will provide live updates throughout, so please stick with us!

Not long now until the virtual ceremony gets underway – with Reshmin Chowdhury and Ruud Gullit hosting the event from FIFA’s home in Zurich.

Who are you predicting to walk away with the biggest honours?

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Robert Lewandowski, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Lucy Bronze, Pernille Harder, Wendie Renard

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper:

Alisson, Manuel Neuer, Jan Oblak

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper:

Sarah Bouhaddi, Christiane Endler, Alyssa Naeher

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

Marcelo Bielsa, Hansi Flick, Jurgen Klopp

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: 

Emma Hayes, Jean-Luc Vasseur, Sarina Wiegman

FIFA Puskas Award:

Son Heung-min (Tottenham vs Burnley – December 7, 2019), Luis Suarez (Barcelona vs Mallorca – December 7, 2019), Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Ceara SC vs Flamengo – August 25, 2019)

Lewandowski is tipped to end Messi and Ronaldo’s dominance by winning the men’s award later tonight.

Here, Sportsmail takes a look through his journey right to the very top after starring for Bundesliga giants and European champions Bayern Munich…

The full list is right below:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper


FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World XI

FIFA Puskas Award

FIFA Fair Play Award

FIFA Fan Award

Hello everyone, and welcome to Sportsmail’s live coverage of the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony.

The virtual ceremony gets underway at 6pm, with plenty of prizes up for grabs to reward the sport’s best from both the men’s and women’s game.

Lewandowski is tipped to win the men’s prize ahead of usual suspects Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo thanks to his remarkable exploits with Bayern Munich – including winning the Champions League at the end of last season.

The ceremony gets started in just under an hours time, so stick with us as we bring you live updates throughout!

Source: Read Full Article